The Truth About a Farmer’s Fight

Todays blog post is going to be a little different from my others. Today I’m going to share why I am thankful for the fight of a farmer.

I am thankful for the work ethic and fight instilled into me by agriculture and my father. I recently found a “pledge” from Mike Rowe that, in my opinion, accurately sums up the agricultural industry’s view on work ethic. Here are some of my favorite points from the pledge, for which I am most grateful.

“THE S.W.E.A.T. PLEDGE”
(Skill & Work Ethic Aren’t Taboo)

3. I believe there is no such thing as a “bad job.” I believe that all jobs are opportunities, and it’s up to me to make the best of them.

7. I believe the best way to distinguish myself at work is to show up early, stay late, and cheerfully volunteer for every crappy task there is.

11. I understand the world is not fair, and I’m OK with that. I do not resent the success of others.

12. I believe that all people are created equal. I also believe that all people make choices. Some choose to be lazy. Some choose to sleep in. I choose to work my butt off.

A picture from Gilmer Dairy Farm's Facebook page.

A picture from Gilmer Dairy Farm’s Facebook page.

I love these points from the pledge because I find them applicable to myself and the agriculture industry; The 1st point I listed is one thing I am extremely grateful for, people that step up and do the “dirty jobs” that others do not want. Most people like drinking milk, but most do not want to dedicate the amount of time it takes to produce the milk. Dairy farmers essentially donate their entire life, give up vacations, and hours of sleep so that we can have that delicious drink that we love. If you are ever curious about what the life of a dairy farmer looks like check out, Will Gilmer on Twitter or Facebook.

I am grateful for the people that go above and beyond for our food production (I am not saying that other people do not show up early, work late and work their butt off, I am sure people of other professions do this as well.) But I am especially grateful for the agriculture workers that do this so that we can eat delicious meals, like the Thanksgiving Dinner we will have soon.

My father and I at an Ag in the Classroom Event recently teaching elementary kids about beef cattle.

My father and I at an Ag in the Classroom Event recently teaching elementary kids about beef cattle.

I am also grateful for the fight that is instilled in every farmer, no matter the circumstance. I have rarely known farmers to give up, they will keep working until they find a solution and solve the problem at hand. This can be anything from loading 12 foot panels in the 8 foot bed of a truck (personal experience), working to solve the world’s hunger problem, or fighting leukemia. My father recently got diagnosed with leukemia and he is already on chemo to fight it. I am extremely grateful because as a farmer he had strong work ethic and fight instilled into him from day one. I am so grateful for his work ethic and fight because without he might give up, but with it I know how strong he is and how hard he can and will work to fight this circumstance. Just as strong and as hard as the farmers and scientists that are working to solve world hunger, and feeding a growing population. Both of these are wars that are only going to be won by people with high work ethic and fight.

3 thoughts on “The Truth About a Farmer’s Fight

  1. Great article! You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers

  2. Well said you and your family are strong people. I too was a farmers daughter and it was the most fun while growing up. Your dad taught you well. He too will overcome his fight he has the most awesome dad ever on his side.

Leave a Reply

